ECO MANAGEMENT AND AUDIT SCHEME

EMAS

Do you see environmental management as part of your corporate philosophy? Do you want to demonstrate to your stakeholders just how environment-friendly your organization really is?  Then you should implement an environmental management system in accordance with the EC Eco Regulation No 1221/2009*. The visible EMAS registration also promotes trust among the general public.

In order to achieve EMAS registration, your organisation will need to prepare an environmental statement and have it validated by an authorized environmental verifier. The validation includes an environmental audit for the continuous improvement of your environmental performance according to ISO 14001.

*for sites located outside the EU, please visit http://ec.europa.eu/environment/emas/join_emas/emas_global_en.htm

  • EC Eco-Audit Scheme
  • Environmental statement
  • Validation
  • Improved environmental performance

EC Eco Regulation No 1221/2009 (Eco-Management and Audit Scheme) was first published in 1993 and revised in 2010 (now called EMAS III). A partial update took place in 2017 because of the revision of ISO 14001:2015. As of 31 December 2016, a total of 1225 organizations and 2111 certificates were listed on the EMAS-Register. EMAS provides your organization with a perfect basis for an effective environmental management system and our own environmental statement. For example, in addition to the continuous improvement of your environmental performance according to ISO 14001, EMAS also includes regular validation of your environmental statement (published as a report), as well as an environmental audit by duly authorized environmental assessors.

  • High public visibility of your environmental commitment  
  • Officially recognized evidence of responsible management
  • Continuous improvement of environmental performance
  • Noticeable reduction of environmental risk  
  • High degree of trust and loyalty among your stakeholders
  • Allows for consistent expansion and strengthening of your market position  

In preparation of the validation, you will first need to conduct a review of all environmental aspects in accordance with the rules of EMAS (environmental review).  Based on these results, you then implement a suitable environmental management system. After you have prepared the environmental statement, our environmental assessors can verify the process used for the review and its implementation. The final step is the validation of your environmental statement by the environmental assessors. If this was successful, your organization can become registered in the EMAS register by the respective Competent Body in their member state. Specific surveillance intervals will be determined according to the size of your organization; the usual cycle is three years.

Your contact

Team Sustainability

Your contact

Team Sustainability

csr@dqs.de

Holistic environmental management

All of the EMAS assessors appointed by DQS GmbH are also qualified for ISO 14001. Subject to audit duration and following the successful conclusion of your EMAS validation, you may also receive an accredited, internationally recognized certificate according to ISO 14001.

UMWELTMANAGEMENT ALS UNTERNEHMENSPHILOSOPHIE

EMAS

Sie wollen zeigen, dass Ihr Unternehmen umweltverträglich wirtschaftet? Dann sollten Sie ein Umweltmanagementsystem nach der EU-Öko-Verordnung einführen. Die EMAS-Registrierung schafft in der Öffentlichkeit das nötige Vertrauen.

Für eine EMAS-Registrierung validiert ein zugelassener Umweltgutachter Ihre eigenverantwortlich erstellte Umwelterklärung und führt eine Umweltbetriebsprüfung hinsichtlich der Verbesserung Ihrer Umweltleistung gemäß ISO 14001 durch. 

  • EU-Öko-Verordnung
  • Umwelterklärung
  • Validierung
  • verbesserte Umweltleistung

Die EU-Verordnung EMAS (Eco-Management and Audit Scheme) wurde 1993 erstmals veröffentlicht und liegt seit dem Jahr 2010 als EMAS III vor, eine weitere Teil­überarbeitung anlässlich der Revision von ISO 14001:2015 erfolgte 2017. Zum 31. Dezember 2016 waren 1.225 Unternehmen mit 2.111 im EMAS-Register eingetragen. EMAS liefert Ihrem Unternehmen eine geeignete Grundlage für ein effektives Umwelt­managementsystem und einer eigenverantwortlich erstellten Umwelterklärung. So sieht EMAS neben der fortlaufenden Verbesserung Ihrer Umweltleistung nach ISO 14001 auch die regelmäßige Validierung Ihrer Umwelterklärung vor (wird als Bericht veröffentlicht) sowie eine Umweltbetriebsprüfung durch speziell zugelassene Umweltgutachter. 

  • transparente Darstellung Ihres Umweltengagements nach außen 
  • anerkannter Nachweis verantwortlichen Wirtschaftens
  • fortlaufende Verbesserung Ihrer Umweltleistung
  • spürbare Reduzierung von Umweltrisiken
  • hohes Maß an Vertrauen und Loyalität der interessierten Parteien
  • steter Ausbau und Stärkung Ihrer Marktposition 

Zur Vorbereitung auf die Validierung führen Sie selbst zunächst eine Prüfung aller Umweltaspekte entlang der EMAS-Regularien durch (Umweltprüfung). Auf der Basis der Ergebnisse implementieren Sie ein geeignetes Umweltmanagementsystem. Nach Erstellen Ihrer Umwelterklärung begutachten unsere Umweltgutachter das Verfahren für die Umweltbetriebsprüfung und seine Umsetzung. Abschließend validieren die Umweltgutachter Ihre Umwelterklärung. Im Erfolgsfall kann sich Ihr Unternehmen bei der zuständigen Stelle (IHK) im europäischen Standortregister registrieren lassen. Entsprechend der Größe Ihres Unternehmens werden bestimmte Überprüfungsintervalle festgelegt, in der Regel von drei Jahren.

Sprechen Sie uns an

Team Umweltschutz

Sprechen Sie uns an

Team Umweltschutz

umwelt@dqs.de

Ganzheitliches Umweltmanagement

Alle von der DQS GmbH eingesetzten EMAS-Gutachter verfügen auch über eine Zulassung für ISO 14001. Bei entsprechendem Auditumfang und nach erfolgreichem Abschluss Ihrer EMAS-Validierung erhalten Sie zudem ein akkreditiertes, international anerkanntes ISO 14001-Zertifikat. 

Informationen